I hate sleeping.. But sometimes I regret it.

This is not a joke, I know a few people who really enjoy sleeping and talk about how they long for sleep sometimes. I never do, I hate sleeping. It’s such a waste of time, I can’t help but think what I could have done in the meantime. Even if it’s really late, as long as I have something entertaining to do, I do not go to bed before I’m so exhausted I can barely stand up.  But more than that I hate the insanely boring time that consists of lying around until I fall asleep, it’s so boring I can’t keep myself from moving slightly at all times, and this makes it very hard for me to fall asleep, thus making me hate sleeping even more, causing me to go to bed only when so exhausted that my head spins and I feel like I could fall asleep at any given moment.

After a while doing this, I have gained insane sleeping habits. Only allowing me to be awake during the hours of the day if I sleep 6 hours at most. If I sleep more, theres a big chance that I’ll not be able to sleep that night and only sleep during the hours of the next day. This is rather unfortunate as most humans sleep during the nightly hours, leaving me unable to hang out with friends for more than a few hours each day. This is what I regret about it, during this summer I have been sleeping well into the days each day, and before I know it, it is far too late to call the few friends that remains at home. Right now the clock is about 5.30 am, and I suspect I might not go to bed until it’s like 8, this will cause me to sleep well into the afternoon.

16 Comments

  1. Chaim said,

    August 15, 2007 at 4:38 am

    Wow. You and I must be kindred spirits. You have described my exact thought process when it comes to settling down for the night. Basically I will only tolerate sleeping the bare minimum. if I sleep more, I usually feel guilty, as if I wasted something valuable. The actual process of getting into bed is the worst part. There are an infinite number of things I would rather be doing than laying around doing nothing for 8 hours, and those things generally keep me up very very late. Since I work at night, I can generally get away with staying up until the sky just starts to get light.

    But there is another problem. I hate waking up in the middle of the day, feeling as if I have wasted most of it. If I get up at any point past 10 I usually feel pretty guilty.

    As you can see, I am not great at getting a lot of sleep much of the time.

    Anyway, thanks for giving me something to read that makes me feel like a little bit less of a freak 🙂

  2. Ragnar said,

    August 15, 2007 at 4:47 am

    I’m glad this post made you feel less of a freak. I will have you know that I know several people who have sleeping habits similar to mine. Most of them are trying to work against it and failing miserably, I just accept it most of the time, and work with it to affect the hours i’m awake. If i want to fall asleep early the next day i keep my sleeping hours to a bare minimum.

  3. tj said,

    August 18, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Geez. I’m the exact same way. I haven’t slept since Thursday when I took a two hour nap in the afternoon. That was enough to mess me up probably through the weekend. I also think it’s a huge waste of time save for the fact that eventually your body will punish you. Were you the same as a kid?

  4. Ragnar said,

    August 22, 2007 at 10:34 am

    Yeah i was, but to less serious degree because I used to need a few hours of sleep at least daily to get by..

  5. justfearless said,

    September 1, 2007 at 3:49 am

    without the internet u would sleep to be honest 😛

  6. Ragnar said,

    September 10, 2007 at 12:08 am

    I got tv/dvds/books for when that occurs =p

  7. dolly said,

    April 13, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    i dont like sleeping when iam not tired and when my mum tell me 2 !!!!! its b.o.r.i.n.g

  8. Josh said,

    May 1, 2009 at 8:07 am

    I’m an even stranger case. I agree completely with what you said about going to sleep, as I hate sleeping as well and tend to stay awake as long as possible. The one problem is that I hate getting up more than going to sleep, so I end up sleeping a lot longer than I need to!

  9. Rita said,

    June 1, 2009 at 4:29 am

    I have always hated sleeping. I’ve always been a morning person, too. When I was younger and used to go to sleep overs with my friends, I would be awake and fidgetting at around 7:30, wanting to get up for the day.

  10. Me said,

    February 23, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    This may sound stranger but I hate going to sleep because I think… where do I go? I just don’t like my mind going blank. It’s just weird.

  11. Riji said,

    May 24, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    I dont sleep i waste my time on the internet gaming wasting my life indoors never going outside i used to go party every night with my mates with i was younger now im 18 and i barely talk to my friends i say yeah man we should go out do somthing but i never follow through i just sit around playing video games cant be bothered getting a job because i can never sleep untill 5-7am and if i had to get up at 8am to go to work i dont think 1 hours sleep would get me through the day I think im depressed i dont know i just feel so sad all the time and the games seem to take the edge off ya know?

  12. Dan said,

    August 27, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Agreeing with what the post first said, I hate the fact of knowing when I’m asleep, I have no control over my body, that events are going on whilst I’m unknown of it and that I believe I will never wake up as I’m putting my-self into turn off mode.
    My advice for anyone reading would be, join a gym, attend regular and work hard, if you’re not into social events, do home chaws or take pills as a last option.

    Although giving this advice, I’ve never done it myself haha.

  13. jakesyl said,

    November 28, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Honestly i dont take naps never have never will i get by on coffee soda and energy drinlks on 4 hours and 6 on the weekends

  14. Derrek said,

    February 7, 2011 at 5:33 am

    thought i was just dropped when i was a baby and got screwed up :p
    But going to bed just feels like you could be doing something more productive then laying there with you mind i nowhere. For the post above ^ not wanting to get up in the morning would be called being a teenager as your body wants more sleep and doesnt want to break the sleep cycle. and the guy gaming all the time sounds like you sit around all day and arnt burnin any energy so your never tired and therefore stay up almost all day. once you get out there and start doing something you probibly will sleep more and it will be easier. as for me i can’t sleep in the day its impossible i’ll just lay there for hours and when night comes even if i’m physically tired i just can’t go to sleep, i just wanna stay up so bad

    ^guy doin energy drinks and coffee… $10 says you’ll have a heart attack LMAO

    peace

  15. jack said,

    August 6, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    jack off

  16. Watson said,

    September 5, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    I have always hated going to bed, ever since I was a child. Few children like going to bed, but I thought I’d have grown out of it by my thirties – I haven’t.

    I hate sleeping for the same reasons as outlined above; it’s boring, you’re not in control of what goes on, feelings of guilt about wasting valuable time, that you may be missing out on something, but also, I hate the fact that it’s expected of most people to just conform to the supposed laws of sleep.

    Sure, everyone will tire eventually, but I will fight vigorously it till the very point of exhaustive defeat. I don’t know why, all I know is I don’t want to be asleep. If I feel my body and mind allow some form of reasonable functioning (for work, exercise, daily business, etc) when sleep deprived, then I will continue to shun sleep.

    Somewhat perversely though, as much as I hate the idea of that stale state of sleepy nothingness, I wouldn’t be that bothered if I knew I were to fall asleep never to wake up again.

    I have also never really awoken to that ‘that was a really refreshing, fulfilling sleep’ thing that people say they sometimes feel. I think that to some degree, no matter how much sleep anyone gets, they will always feel they could do with a little more, so I just think – we’ll why bother at all?

    Regards, oh, and good morning everyone!

    Watson.


Leave a Reply

